Nickel Plating Thingmaker Molds

Archives

Nickel Plating Thingmaker Molds

Postby Archives » Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:58 pm

thingmaker

02/21/06 at 12:38 AM
Reply with quote #1

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Everyone,

I thought I would give an update with some more information on plating thingmaker molds. It's definately possible,. From my research and my own experience with different types of plating (I'm a mechanical designer), It is a two step process because the molds are zinc die cast. Zinc is a pourous metal, and it can be easily corroded as some of you have found out when you clean your molds with acetic acid (vinegar) solution for too long. Nickel plating is a very acidic process and it would destroy the mold. Usually you would lay down a strike coat such as copper plate before nickel plating. Copper adheres very well to nickel and copper plating will generally fill in any nicks or cuts that are in the mold to a certain degree. Your mileage may very due to the nature of what you are plating in this case CC molds. Some of the detail may be somewhat lost if you're trying to plate a poor quality mold.